Pupils and teacher outside

All free schools, like Academies, are governed by not-for-profit charitable trusts, which are closely monitored by the Audit Commission to ensure that they provide good value for the public money with which they are entrusted.

In the case of St Andrew the Apostle School, the Governing Body is the Board of the Russell Education Trust (RET), a Government-approved academy sponsor. Information about RET's Trustees can be found on the RET website.

In each of its schools, RET formally delegates a range of its responsibilities to a Local Governing Body representing the community.  More information about this structure can be found in the RET Scheme of Delegation and the St Andrew the Apostle School Governing Body Standing Orders.

A close, consultative relationship exists between RET and the Local Governing Bodies of its schools and the views of local governors inform all aspects of RET policy.

St Andrew the Apostle School Local Governing Body

The St Andrew the Apostle School Local Governing Body includes the Headteacher, two elected parent governors and up to ten further governors appointed by the Trust.

Local Governors are appointed/elected for a 4 year term, and are currently as follows:


Appointer / Date:


Mary Karaolis OBE (Chair)

RET/Sept 2013

RET/Sept 2017

RET/Sept 2021

Safeguarding; Curriculum

Maria Frangeskides (Vice Chair)

RET/Sept 2013

RET/Sept 2017

RET/Sept 2021


Archdeacon George

Archbishop of Thyateira and Great Britain /Feb 2022


Marina Pareas

RET/Sept 2013

RET/Sept 2017

RET/Sept 2021

Behaviour and Attendance; Pay and Performance

Costas Frangeskides

RET/Sept 2013

RET/Sept 2017

RET/Sept 2021

Sixth Form

Kevin McSharry

RET/Dec 2020

Faith and Worship

Danny Lynch

RET/Sept 2019

Exclusions; Curriculum

Eleni Stathi

Elected/Dec 2021


Jason Phasouliotis

Elected/Jan 2022


Theo Theodorou

RET/Sept 2013

RET/Sept 2017

 RET/Jan 2022

Finance; Health and Safety

Andreas Savas

RET/Sept 2023

Finance; Health and Safety

Fran Stewart

RET/Nov 2023


Philip Hills (Headteacher)

RET/June 2023


Name Date stepped down
Yiannis Pareas April 2020 (RIP)
Contact the Governing Body

To contact the chair of the governing body please write to Mary Karaolis Chair of Governors (c/o St. Andrew the Apostle School, Building 5, North London Business Park, N11 1BF) or email her  at