Pastoral Support

pupils at desk in classroom

Our school is one where students are known, supported and nurtured.

We believe that outstanding pastoral care is one of the fundamental cornerstones to ensuring students feel safe and happy throughout their secondary education. Every member of staff has a role to play in pastoral care and we have a clear pastoral structure to ensure each student is fully supported during their time at St Andrew the Apostle.

The school is divided into year groups, each with its own Head of Year. Each student is placed in a tutor group with a form tutor who takes a special and supportive interest in that group.

Students see their form tutors daily. The pastoral system plays a central role in academic success and personal development. The school’s approach is closely linked to our academic monitoring systems. The person who links our pastoral support to academic success is the Head of Year.

 Form Tutors support students in a variety of ways. They are the first port of call of any issues of concerns your or your child may have in school. If there is any information your child needs from other teachers they cannot immediately see or if they have bullying or friendships concerns, their Form Tutor is the first person they should speak to.

 Our Heads of Year are a secondary source of support and coordinate the work of the tutor groups and the support that students are offered. Our Heads of Year take responsibility for the welfare and academic outcomes of the students in their year groups.

Tutor groups for 2022-23 are as follows:

Key Stage 3

Year 7
Year Leader: Ms Nelson
Year 8
Year Leader: Ms Nelson
Year 9
Year Leader: Ms Walt
7 James: Mrs Nicolaou and Ms Bassington
7 Matthew: Mr Bendall
7 Philip: Miss Msrar
7 Simon: Ms Sgarlata and Ms Bassington
8 James: Ms Casey
8 Matthew: Miss Hadley
8 Philip: Ms Valavanis
8 Simon: Mr Simmons
9 James: Mr Walch
9 Matthew: Ms Mahmuti
9 Philip: Mr Barreto
9 Simon: Mr Dunhill

Key Stage 4

Year 10
Year Leader: Ms Walt
Year 11
Year Leader: Mr Francis
10 James: Ms Galazoula
10 Matthew: Mr Ahmed 
10 Philip: Mr Dogan and Mr Semere
10 Simon: Mrs Mahmud-Smith and Miss Siddiqui
10 Thomas: Ms Laabaied
11 James: Mr Liu
11 Matthew: Mr Iberi
11 Philip: Ms Hussein and Mrs Begum
11 Simon:  Mr Browell
11 Thomas: Mr Markou and A Semere

Head of Sixth Form - Ms Ramm-Harpley

Deputy Head of Sixth Form: Mrs Koveri

Year 12 Year 13
12 James: Mr Pappas
12 Simon: Mr Hawkins
13 James: Ms Koveri
13 Simon: Ms Joseph
13 Philip: Mr Lasithiotakis